Sometimes when you are running a Manger module option it is important to ensure that nobody logs into Herschel. The lock / unlock system option allows you to prevent users logging in and then to unlock the system again. When you lock the system anyone using Herschel will be asked to log out as soon as possible:


If you accidentally lock yourself out of the system then you can gain access again by deleting the file LOCK.TXT in your \HERSCHEL folder.