Some Herschel options must only be used by one user at a time (for example a plan explosion or ABC analysis). To ensure this is the case the system uses option in use flags. If an option is being accessed by another user when you try to run it, the option's window will display a message similar to this:
If a user does not complete an
option successfully (by switching off their PC halfway through, for
example) the option in use flag may remain set indefinitely and other users
prevented from using the option.
The Manager module's clear options in use option allows you to reset these flags as necessary. However, you should confirm that the user shown in any warning message is not actually using the option before clearing the flag:
In a similar way, when a datafile record is being updated a record being updated flag is used. If you try to amend a record that is being updated by another user the option's window will display a message similar to this:
If a user does not complete the update of a record successfully (by rebooting their computer in the middle of the option, for example) the record update flag will remain set and no users will be able to update the record.
If a record update flag becomes permanently set, it can be cleared using the Manager module's clear records being updated option. You should ensure that the user who has locked the record is not actually updating the system before clearing the flags: